Final Fantasy VII Rebirth will feature "totally new cities" not included in the original game

by Danny Craig  · 
Final Fantasy VII Rebirth will feature "totally new cities" not included in the original game
Square Enix

Final Fantasy VII Rebirth director Naoki Hamaguchi has revealed that the game will include new cities not found in the original PS1 title to create a more immersive world.

The details:

  • In an interview with Game Informer, Hamaguchi explained that Square Enix chose to introduce some new locations into the world of Gaia to add additional story and exploration not found in the original, one of which is the town of Crow's Nest. "In Rebirth, we've added these types of cities like the Crow's Nest — totally new cities that did not exist in the original to go deeper and create this whole worldview of Rebirth," the director said. "We reach this area after completing a quest, and then this place unlocks. The residents already know Cloud and the party are a part of Avalanche."

  • According to the director, Crow's Nest is the sister town to Under Junon, and its residents share the same anti-Shinra sentiment. This new location will not affect the main plot and will be entirely optional, offering side quests and minigames to those who go out of their way to find it in the world. Hamaguchi also stated that the residents of these new towns will be aware that Cloud and his group are members of the eco-terrorist organization Avalanche and will seek assistance as a result.

  • Square has revealed quite a bit about what to expect from Rebirth ahead of its February 29, 2024 release. Its Summer Game Fest trailer featured iconic locations such as Cosmo Canyon and Nibelheim, and the developer also shared that new content centered on Zack Fair and the backstory of Sephiroth will be included.

More gaming news:

Latest News